Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

It’s in the details

With so much going on at FitterFaster at the moment, I’m snowed under with bookwork, writing up programs, following up assessments and keeping on top of everyones’ attendances and performance.  We have lots and lots of new Rookies as well as some who are still officially classed as Rookies, but have been with us for a month or so and are really progressing along nicely.

The particiapants of the Transformation Project are looking fantastic with obvious changes very noticeable in their physiques.

B & A Donna Kempster

I thought I’d recap a few ideas that will boost your fitness and fatloss whether you’ve been part of one of these intense programs recently or not.  Doing just a bit of this and a bit of that won’t work.  You need to stay committed to your goals and follow through with your plan. Especially at this time of the year, it can be very easy to put your health and fitness on the back burner simply because your think you’re too busy.  The details make the difference though so focus on what you want to achieve despite this being the ‘silly season’.

  • Don’t do the same thing all the time You must vary your training from session to session and week to week.  At FitterFaster we use multiple variations of a large number of different drills.  We also vary times of intervals, intensities, groupings of exercises and the order in which we do everything.  We also vary our main focus from week to week which has really improved everyone’s recovery and performance in the past 6 months or so.  Doing the same routine day in , day out, week in, week out will result in plateaus and slower if any results.  Even if you’re increasing your weight, if you’re doing the same thing all the time, you won’t be getting the best results. You can’t just simply swap things around every workout without a clear path of progression and a plan.
  • Watch what you eat and when you eat it With what you eat, it really is in the details.  Serving sizes that are just a tiny bit too big make a huge difference over just a few weeks.  Go back to measuring your food for a week and see how much you’ve crept those servings upwards.  Also make sure you’re eating often enough.  You should be feeding yourself every 2-3 hours during waking hours.  Yes that often.  Skipping meals will result in bingeing and making bad food choices.  As I mentioned in a recent email to my clients, just an extra 100 calories a day can lead to huge weight gains over a year.  100 calories is easy to get in a biscuit, a low fat latte or a serving of meat that’s just a little too big.  Now how often do you have these things or other things like them and say to yourself “it’s only a tiny bit, I’ll burn it off in my workout”  Well it just won’t happen.  All those extras will pile weight on before you know what happened, and if you’re trying to lose fat-well that just isn’t going to happen unless you get back to basics and look at the details.
  • Cut out alcohol. This may seem impossible, especially at this time of the year.  But if you’re trying to improve your physique, alcohol could well be the absolute worse thing you can put into your body.  Even just a beer/wine or two can make all the difference.  So limit your alcohol intake to 2 special occasions over the Christmas/New Year period and see the difference this one change will make.
  • Don’t be scared of over training. I don’t think anyone I know could be accused of over training.  Your body can handle a large amount of quality training and indeed will thrive on it.  What may seem like over training is probably, in actual fact under recovery.  Make sure you get enough good, healthy, real food and enough sleep and you can practically train as much and as hard as you like.  Other ways to improve recovery are: eating enough (without overeating of course), epsom salt baths (great for magnesium uptake in your muscles), more sleep, manipulation of your training program-focus on different areas of fitness each week, regular hands on treatments like massage, chiropractic etc and taking omega 3 supplements.
  • Have goals You can have the body you want.  We are all the same human beings.  Everyone has the ability to get to a low or lower body fat level.  ‘Big bones’ are a myth-something our mums told us so we’d feel better.  YOU CAN HAVE THE BODY OF YOUR DREAMS.  Believe that and it’s possible.  It will take hard work and it will take commitment, especially if you’ve let yourself go over a longer period of time.  But you can do it.
  • Get a coach who knows what to do to produce the results YOU want to achieve Of course I can recommend FitterFaster to get results with fat loss, performance improvement, mobility improvement and overall fitness enhancement.  But if you know of another trainer/coach that also is producing the results you want to aim for, book yourself an appointment and go see them.  A good coach will show you how to get there.  They’ll provide effective training sessions, teach you what to eat and how to fit it into your lifestyle.  They’ll be able to encourage you to try harder and to reach for the sky.    They’ll make sure you’re doing the right thing for the other 23 hours of the day and provide information that makes it easier to fit it all into your life.

So set some goals today.  Don’t be scared to think big.  If you want a 6-pack, write it down.  If you want to be able to see muscles in your arms or legs, start working towards it now.  If you’ve always thought it would be great to do a triathlon, or finish a running race, don’t think that you can’t do it just because you’ve never done it before. If you want to fit into a special piece of clothing that you used to wear, get it out and set out to do so.

imagesI came from a totally sedentary lifestyle.  I’d never played any sports-not even as a kid.  After having 4 children and being in my mid 30’s I decided one day that I’d like to try a triathlon.  My husband (to be at the time) had done them once years prior and I’d often watched and thought ‘one day.’  So I set myself on the track to eventually completing 6 half ironmans, loads of half marathons, a marathon and countless shorter runs and triathlon events.  I trained hard and found time to devote towards something I wanted to do.  I was as fit as fit comes and had heaps of energy and loved it.  Coming from a totally non-sporty, sedentary background, I really appreciated and loved the way that being fit felt.

Another child later (that makes 5) and I decided to change my focus towards improving my body composition and the way I looked.   Sure, I wasn’t terribly overweight or anything as I’d lost quite a few kilos with all that training, but I wasn’t really happy with how I looked either.  With years of research under my belt and bits and pieces of trial and error, I found the perfect way to improve how I looked-and it wasn’t by running.

At 40 something years old, I trialled different ways of getting my bodyfat down as low as I could, experimented with ways of getting stronger without getting bigger, ways of reducing the risks of injury and founded what we today refer to as ‘FitForce’ or ‘PeakFit’ training here at FitterFaster.  I actually gained about 4kg but lost many, many cm’s and dropped a couple of clothing sizes.  I’m now toned, strong, fit and athletic and for the first time in my life, I wear a bikini-in my 40’s!!!!!!

If you want something, go for it.  I’m fitter and look better than I did in my 20’s (or so Greg says)  I’m strong and healthy and have more than enough energy to power through not just my training, but through my busy life with 5 kids.

So go for it and don’t forget, it’s in the details.  For once the little things really do count.

Jo

Leave a Reply

