Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

It’s in the details

There is so much going on around here, Personal Training sessions booked solid, Bootcamps with high numbers despite the frost and cold weather and Box Out sessions also starting.  I’m absolutely loving this!!  Everyone so enthusiastic whether they’ve just started their journey, or whether they are well on the way.

Are there holes in your health and fitness program?

Often at this time of the year, it can be harder to stay on track.  I know myself that I just had a ‘bad’ weekend food-wise, but I’ve just gotten straight back onto the wagon and have already lost the kilo of fluid that I gained from just a couple of days of eating the wrong sorts of foods.  If you normally follow a clean diet (and I mean really clean-not just ‘pretty good’)  you will notice that as little as a day or two of bad choices will result in immediate bloating and the resultant weight gain on the scales.  Continue on for too long and it soon becomes fat deposits as well and that’s when you get into trouble.  So if you find that you’re off track, now is always the perfect time to sort yourself out.

I thought I’d recap a few ideas that will boost your fitness and fat loss.  Doing just a bit of this and a bit of that won’t work.  You need to stay committed to your goals and follow through with your plan 100%.

  • Don’t do the same thing all the time You must vary your training from session to session and week to week.  At FitterFaster at both Bootcamp and in Personal Training sessions, we use multiple variations of a large number of different drills.  We also vary times of intervals, intensities, groupings of exercises and the order in which we do everything.  We also vary our focus from week to week which has really improved everyone’s recovery over the past year.  We have a ‘cardio’ focus week followed by a ‘strength/endurance’ focus week.  Doing the same routine day in, day out, week in, week out will result in plateaus and stalled results.  Even if you’re increasing the weight you use, if you’re doing the same thing all the time, you won’t be getting the best results.
  • Watch what you eat and when you eat it With what you eat, it really is in the details.  Serving sizes that are just a tiny bit too big make a huge difference over a few weeks or months.  Go back to measuring your food for a week and see how much you’ve crept those servings upwards.  Also make sure you’re eating often enough.  You should be feeding yourself every 2-3 hours during waking hours.  Yes that often.  Skipping meals will result in bingeing and making bad food choices.  As I mentioned in a recent email to my clients, just an extra 100 calories a day can lead to huge weight gains over a year.  100 calories is easy to get in a biscuit, a low fat latte or a serving of meat that’s just a little too big.  Now how often do you have these things or other things like them and say to yourself “it’s only 100 calories, I’ll burn it off in my workout”  Well it just won’t happen.  All those extras will pile weight on before you know what happened, and if you’re trying to lose fat-well that just isn’t going to happen unless you get back to basics and look at the details.
  • Cut out alcohol. This may seem impossible.  But if you’re trying to improve your physique, alcohol could well be the absolute worse thing you can put into your body.  Even just one beer or two can make all the difference.  So limit your alcohol intake to 2 special occasions over the winter period and see the difference this one change will make.
  • Don’t be scared of over training. I don’t think anyone I know could be accused of over training.  Your body can handle a large amount of quality training and indeed will thrive on it.  What may seem like over training is probably, in actual fact under recovery.  Make sure you get enough good, healthy, real food and enough sleep and you can practically train as much and as hard as you like.  Other ways to improve recovery are: eating enough (without overeating of course), epsom salt baths (great for magnesium uptake in your muscles), more sleep, manipulation of your training program-focus on different areas of fitness each week, regular hands on treatments like massage, chiropractic etc and taking omega 3 supplements.
  • Have goals You can have the body you want.  We are all the same human beings.  Everyone has the ability to get to a low or lower body fat level.  ‘Big bones’ are a myth-something our mums told us so we’d feel better.  YOU CAN HAVE THE BODY OF YOUR DREAMS.  Believe that and it’s possible.  It will take hard work and it will take commitment, especially if you’ve let yourself go over a longer period of time.  But you can do it.
  • Get a trainer who knows what to do Of course I can recommend FitterFaster to get great results.  I offer a money back guarantee if you don’t lose body fat.  But if you know of another trainer that also is producing the results you want, book yourself an appointment and go see them.  A good trainer will show you how to get there and will be walking the walk.    Make sure that they can show you proof of the type of results you want to achieve.  Different trainers are better at different things, and it’s no use following a plan that makes you a faster runner if what you really wanted was to lose body fat.  Good trainers provide effective training sessions, teach you what to eat and how to fit it into your lifestyle.  They’ll be able to encourage you to try harder and to reach for the sky.    They’ll make sure you’re doing the right thing for the other 23 hours of the day that they’re not with you and provide information that makes it easier.

So set some goals today.  Don’t be scared to think big.  If you want a 6-pack, write it down.  If you want to be able to see muscles in your arms or legs, start working towards it now.  If you’ve always thought it would be great to do a triathlon, or finish a running race, don’t think that you can’t do it just because you’ve never done it before.

I came from a totally sedentary lifestyle.  I’d never played any sports-not even as a kid.  After having 4 children and being in my 30’s I decided one day that I’d like to try a triathlon.  My husband (to be at the time) had done them once and I’d often watched and thought ‘one day.’  So I set myself on the track to eventually completing 6 half ironmans.  I trained hard and found time to devote towards something I wanted to do.  I was as fit as fit comes and had heaps of energy and loved it.

Another child later (that makes 5) and I decided to change my focus towards improving my body composition and the way I looked.   Sure, I wasn’t overweight or anything as I’d lost quite a few kilos with all that training, but I wasn’t really happy with how I looked either.  With years of research under my belt and bits and pieces of trial and error, I found the perfect way to improve how I looked-and it wasn’t by running.

At almost 40 years old, I trialled different ways of getting my bodyfat down as low as I could, experimented with ways of getting stronger without huge risks of injury and founded what we today refer to as ‘Bootcamp.’

If you want something, go for it.  I’m fitter and look better than I did in my 20’s (or so Greg says)  I’m strong and healthy and have more than enough energy to power through not just my training, but through my busy life with 5 kids.

So go for it and don’t forget, it’s in the details

Jo

Leave a Reply

