Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

Is it time for you to make a change?

Improving your health and fitness can often seem to be an insurmountable task.

Changing what and when you’re eating, getting more sleep, beginning a training program or fixing the one you’re already doing, drinking more water, cutting out alcohol etc can seem like just too big of a change.

The best way to tackle it, is to just decide to do it.  But how do you do that?  I know, you’ve started before.  You’ve purchased the latest miracle shake or piece of equipment that was guaranteed to get you the results you were after, but low and behold, a week later and you were back to your old habits.

What gives?  How come some people can do it and others can’t?

Well something has to happen to really make you decide that this is the time for you.  Sometimes you don’t even realise that something has happened, but whatever it was, the time became right and you are able to follow through with your plans.

That something could be obvious-you or someone close to you has a bad health scare or you try on clothes for that party that’s coming up and nothing seems to fit anymore.  Or you just wake up one day and look in the mirror and really don’t like what you see.  How did you get that way?  What happened?  One minute you were a teenager or in your 20’s, eating, drinking and being merry and all was good.  The next minute, you are looking a feeling tired, your pants don’t fit, you have no energy and you’re getting old!!

You know you can turn this around though.  Getting older doesn’t have to mean a decline in health and fitness.  I’m in better shape now at 43 than I was in my 20’s.  Not that I was overweight then, but I was soft and unfit and stuck with habits that were very bad for my health.

I think my moment was when I had 4 kids at home under 4 years old and I as much as I love being a Mum (and I really, really do as anyone who knows me can attest) I felt that stuff was out of my control and that there was no ‘me’ left.  I decided to take up exercise and with a good friend, started walking and then joined the gym.  As I started to see results, I made a decision to take up triathlons-a decision which still amazes Greg and myself when I really think about it.

At first it wasn’t easy.  I had to get up a ungodly hours to fit my training in.  Greg was working incredibly long hours building up our other business and we hardly saw him.  So into my office I’d go really, really early in the morning, onto the treadmill or bike or lifting weights before the kids got up.

Some nights I’d hardly slept with feeding the twins – Lauren and Harrison- during the night and still also having Ben and Caitlin awake as well.  But I still got up.  I knew that if I really wanted to make this work and see results, I just had to do it.  Even if it meant that I had to have a granny nap in the afternoon while the kids went down, or make sure I got into bed a bit earlier the next night.

It was really hard at times.  But one thing I really noticed was the longer I was consistent, the better I felt after training.  The longer I was consistent, the easier it was to get out of bed.  And the longer I was consistent, the better my results got.  It was amazing, I was soon addicted to training, an addiction I still have now, almost 10 years later.

I did have setbacks.  Another baby slowed me down a little in between.  But I was still in the gym working hard the day before I was booked in for my c-section at 42 weeks.  Although I had to stop running, I did other things that I could manage.  I traded my racing bike for an exercise bike with a cushy seat.  I attended yoga and pilates classes.  I still lifted weights-heavy ones too-but now I had to ask for assistance to place them back onto their racks when I’d finished.  I had lots of reasons to stop many, many times over the past 10 years, but I never will.

Is it time for you?  Imagine how you will look and feel in a few months time if you start now.

  • Decide to start today. Don’t wait till Monday or the start of the new month, or till after that function that’s coming up.   There’s no time like the present.
  • Start by cleaning out your kitchen -yes really!!  A couple of days ago I was having a hormonal craving for something sweet.  I searched high and low in the cupboards, the fridge and back to the pantry.  I think I searched everywhere about 5 times, but there was nothing there.  So guess what!  I couldn’t have it.  This is so simple.  And NO you don’t need it there for your kids!!!!!!  They are no different to you.  Do you want them to end up overweight and unhealthy and looking for the magic cure just like you are?
  • Don’t spend too long planning Planning is important, but it’s more important to take steps that get you closer to where you want to be.  Do something today-do a workout off my website www.fitterfasteronline.com They are free and you don’t need any equipment.  Eat something healthy 5 times today-space meals 2-3 hours apart.  Once you’ve started, you can refine your plan, but the most important thing to do, is start now.
  • Enlist a friend or colleagues help Arranging to meet with someone each day to train is one of the most effective strategies.  If you don’t get up and out of bed, you don’t just have to justify this to yourself, but you’ll have to make up an excuse to them as well.  Once you’re up and get going, you will feel like it – believe me.
  • If you’re not confident to start-get help This is another DO TODAY strategy.  Don’t put off asking for help any longer.  Nothing is going to change until YOU DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.  You may only need help temporarily.  Perhaps you’ve never exercised before and really don’t know where to start (lots of free ideas at http://www.fitterfasteronline.com) or you really are confused about what’s healthy and what’s not (again visit the website)  Or you may want help and support long term.  It’s up to you, but if you contact a professional and make appointments and a commitment to meet them, you’ll be much more likely to succeed.
  • START NOW!! I’m repeating this again, because it’s so, so important.  I cannot stress enough to not put it off any longer.  If you really want to change, YOU HAVE TO MAKE CHANGES. Drop the excuses and reasons.  We all have the same 24 hours in a day.  We all have jobs, families,  and a million other reasons to run out of time, but think about it.  If you don’t do something about your health and fitness soon, you’ll have to find lots of time to be sick instead.
  • Talk to someone who’s done it before and has achieved or is achieving the results you’re after This could be  friend or work mate that leads a healthy lifestyle.  It could be a professional trainer.  People who are successful at what they do are usually very willing to share their secrets.  They are proud and usually flattered that you’d ask.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you can all find the motivation to get started.  But remember, the motivation is usually temporary.  It won’t get you out of bed every day despite what they’ll tell you.  There will be plenty of times when the motivation just isn’t there.  That’s when the successful people decide to DO IT ANYWAY!  That’s why they get the results.  Because they do it even when they don’t feel like it.

Remember consistency is the key.  Each day, each week and each month.  You have to be consistent.

Goodluck everyone-train hard, eat healthily and get plenty of sleep.

Jo

Leave a Reply

