Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

It’s your fault you’re fat and/or unfit.

Having excess body fat or being so deconditioned that walking up a flight of stairs or two causes your heart to pound and your lungs to gasp for breath is the result of many influences.

Genetics only play a minor part in your current body condition.

Sure, you are tall, short, have wider hips or longer legs depending on hereditary factors, but how much body fat you carry and how fit you are depends on your own choices and the decisions you make on a daily basis.

Many modern and common diseases such as heart disease and cancer can even be prevented in most cases by making the right lifestyle choices.    I overheard someone say during Relay For Life that cancer is indiscriminate and can choose anyone.  Although this is sometimes the case, many cancers are directly related to the lifestyle choices people make every day.

FACTORS YOU CAN CONTROL

What you eat

How much you eat

When you eat

How often you train

Whether you smoke or drink alcohol

How long you train for

What type of training you do

Your mental attitude towards improving and maintaining your health

How intensely you train

If you don’t like the way you look or how your body performs, do something about it.  Make the right choices every day, even if they are the hard choices.  Choose to eat only healthy food.   Choose to get up and start each day with an intense training session.  Drop the excuses:

  • I don’t have time
  • I don’t have equipment
  • I can’t afford it
  • I don’t have enough energy
  • My family doesn’t eat that sort of food-well they should!
  • I don’t know what to do
  • I have children
  • I’m just too busy at the moment
  • I have an injury- come to Bootcamp and I’ll show you how to train around your injury or condition
  • Being fat runs in my family
  • I always get injured
  • Training hurts my old (insert body part) injury
  • I need more sleep
  • I can’t get up early
  • I work long hours
  • My husband/wife/partner works long hours
  • I’m busy running my kids around
  • I don’t have a baby sitter
  • I don’t have  a gym membership
  • I don’t like sports
  • I’m pregnant
  • It’s in my genes
  • I can’t afford that type of food-baloney!!
  • I don’t have time to cook-what a crock of _________
  • I don’t like that sort of food
  • There’s not enough hours in the day
  • My kids are too young
  • It’s too hot
  • It’s too cold
  • I will miss  (insert favourite TV show)
  • I’m so tired at the end of the day
  • etc etc etc

This is not meant to offend anyone, but the truth is, if you are overweight and unfit, it is your fault.

Only children can really blame their parents.  And it’s not the genes they should blame, but the choices parents make for their children in regards to what they are eating and often more importantly what they are not eating.  Parents can also ‘choose’ for their children to be more active by limiting activities such as TV, playstation and computer type games and by encouraging participation in sports and other outdoor activities.  Again, we must make the hard choices even if it means having an argument or two.

So starting today, make a choice to do something different.  Whether it be starting a training program, throwing junk food out of your house or adding fruits and vegetables into every meal and snack throughout your day.  If you absolutely can’t miss your favourite TV show, at least do something while you watch it.  If it’s not convenient to train and watch, do your ironing, fold your washing, do the dishes or dust the furniture while you do.  That way you free up other time that you can set aside to train.

Everyone can find 3-4 hours a week to train their bodies.  If you think you can’t, come and see me and I’ll show you how you can.  And if you don’t fit it in, you had better be prepared to find time to be sick, really sick, later in your life.  Some types of training are better than others, but just get started.  While you argue about different methods, I’ll be on the track.

Post a comment telling us what you are going to do today to make a difference to your health

Jo

Leave a Reply

