Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

What’s Your Motivation?

Have you ever thought about how some people seem to maintain a fit, lean, amazingly healthy body and make it look easy?  How some people can get up every day and train hard without what seems like any hesitation?  How they can stick to a healthy diet most of the time and fit so much into their day?  How much energy must these people have?
Why is it so hard for you to do the same?
You may think that the difference is their motivation, but I think it’s more than that.
Motivation can get you anything in life, but you cannot rely on it alone.
Motivation comes and goes for everyone.
Motivation wont get you anywhere without determination.
Motivation could come in many forms:
I want to have more energy to keep up with my kids.
I want to improve my health and extend my lifespan.
I want to lose 10kgs before my next holiday/party/other event.
I want to be able to wear shorts and singlets again.
I want a great figure to impress my current or future partner.
Any of these are great motivators in the short term, but without determination they will not:
Get you out of bed early day in, day out
Stop you from having those chips when out for dinner
Help you to pass on the piece of cake, lollies, chocolate etc
Make you put 110% into your workout every time
Stop you from munching those snacks while watching TV
Get you to every planned workout every week
But determination will.  Determination to achieve weekly goals which when added together over months, will bring you closer to your original motivator.
So what are the steps to get you to your goal/motivator?
  1. Work out what your motivator or goal is.  Do you want to look or feel better?  Do you want to wear a certain clothing size or complete a race in a set time?  Do you want to lower your blood pressure, cholesterol or other health marker?  Do you want to be able to complete your first fun run or triathlon?
  2. Record it.  That’s right, write it down.  Stick it on the fridge, record it on the forum or stick it in the front of your diary.  Make sure you goal is measurable.  Whether it’s a certain time, or weight or clothing size.  You have to be able to tell when you get there.  If there is a race or event involved, send off your entry!
  3. Make a plan.  This is the most important step.  Set daily and weekly goals that will lead you to your  major motivator or goal.  I call these process goals and to me they are the most important factor to achieving anything.  Process goals such as ‘drinking 2 litres of water every day’ or ‘ train 5 times this week for at least 60 minutes each’ and ‘eat 5 meals and snacks every day including a protein source and some fruits or vegetables every day’ are achievable one day at a time.  Make yourself up a chart and each night, tick the boxes and record how you went.  Have a training diary (not negotiable if you’re a FitterFaster Bootcamper anyway), keep a food diary and record everything.
  4. Stick to the plan.   Schedule everything in.  At the end of every week, diarise the next week’s training plan/schedule.  Check your fridge for quality food.  Print out your training/food diary sheets.  At the end of each day, record everything.  I like to put a big red cross on any day that I totally stick to my plan on our calendar.  I love to see how long I can keep the chain of crosses going before it breaks.
  5. Just do it.  Make a start today.

Those people who make it look easy, have a plan.  They don’t wing it or wait for motivation to appear.  They are just plain determined to make it happen.  They’ve decided what they want and worked out how to get there.  After a while, the process goals often become a habit, but you will still need to schedule and plan and then review each week to keep on track.  Be determined to get to your goals.

Remember that goals are not magic, you need determination to reach them.  Post your goals on this post and take the first step to achieving them today.

2 responses

  1. fitterfaster

    My first goal is to complete the Eaglehawk Half Marathon on 21st March this year.

    My second goal is to get on my bike at least once per week from now on as well as add an extra run each week bring my runs per week up to 3 plus the beginner run on Thursday

    My third goal is to find a trainer to help with FitterFaster so that I can implement all the exciting plans I have for the future of FitterFaster to help everyone else achieve their goals.

    Jo

    February 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  2. Betina

    Hi Jo I think that your goal is realistic. Good luck to achive your goal.
    I thought that your already had a trainer to help you?

    February 15, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Leave a Reply

