Fitness. Fatloss. Results.

Water Levels

sweatyabswoman

Hi again to all those who have subscribed to the FitterFaster Blog.  Please make sure you do so by clicking on the box on the right and entering your email address.

Please also make sure that you join the FitterFaster Forum to keep up to date with the latest happenings at Bootcamp, the progress of all of our Greatest Loser Challengers and to ask and answer questions about health and fitness.

Now back to the subject at hand.  How much water should you be drinking?  The amount of water that we should consume varies between individuals and also from day to day. 

I like to drink 1.5 litres per day, plus what I have while training.  This keeps me well hydrated, clear urine, moist skin and not thirsty.  I can always tell when I have not had enough.  My skin gets dry, my mouth is dry and I get tired a lot more easily.  These changes occur overnight.  A major cause of headaches and some migraines is dehydration.  When it is hot, I try to drink at least 2 litres per day plus my training drinks.

Why do we need to consume all this water?

The human body is made up of between 55-75%water.  Those of you who have had your hydration levels checked by me when we did your body composition analysis will have noted that you were either underhydrated, or very close.  No one had excellent hydration levels, including me.

Our lungs expel between 2-4 cups of water a day just through the breathing process. You sweat about 2 cups per day not counting the amount you sweat while exercising.  You go to the toilet 4-6 cups per day.

What are the benefits of drinking enough water?

Helps prevent constipation

Lessens the severity of colds and flu

Keeps joints lubricated (think of those knees and ankles)

Lessens chance of kidney stones

Helps with fat loss-if you are dehydrated, this can contribute to fat gain

Dehydration causes fatigue and otherwise unexplained tiredness.  As little as 2% dehydration can cause a drop in performance

Adequate water helps keep your skin moist and smooth

How do I fit all this water in? 

Well I start the day, first thing while I wait for my kettle to boil by drinking about 250ml of water.  Straight out of bed I will be dehydrated.  Then before each of my 5 meals of the day, I drink another 250ml.  Simple.  I also try to remember to have another 250ml glass before bed.

I carry around a 1.25L bottle with me to make sure that I drink enough during the day if I am not at home.  For some reason, water in a glass always seems more appealing though.  I also consume another 600-750ml at each workout once or twice per day.  As I said, I can always tell when I haven’t had enough.  I find I am less likely to drink enough if I am out for the day, a habit which I am trying hard to break. 

So this is your new challenge.  Starting today, I want you to drink at least 1.5 litres of water each and every day, plus what you have when you do your workout.  At first you may find that you are running to the toilet every 5 minutes, but that should level off after the first few days.

Let us know on the forum how you go.

Jo

One response

  1. Pingback: Bring A Bloke Week « Fitterfaster’s Blog

Leave a Reply

